How it all started

January 12, 201

I think the best way to start off this blog is to explain how I became interested in real food and give credit to the websites that have sparked my interest in cooking and eating real food.  My interest began after spending a week at my parent’s lake house with some friends.  I had been on a low fat, low carb, high protein diet but was getting bored with the food options.  The diet worked and I was pleased with the results, but I knew that there were important parts of a healthy diet that I was missing.  Plus, it was difficult to provide a variety of foods for my family when my own food options were limited.  My friend, who had been a former coupon fanatic, had started cooking more foods from scratch.  At some point, she came to the realization that, while couponing did save money, a lot of the food was highly processed and not healthy.  So, after spending time at the lake and getting some ideas, I came home and started doing some research online.  I watched Food, Inc. which I strongly suggest you watch.  You can rent it through Amazon by clicking on this link: http://www.amazon.com/Food-Inc/dp/B002VRZEYM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1358035838&sr=8-1&keywords=food+inc

Along with that documentary, the following websites gave me inspiration and information:

www.100daysofrealfood.com

http://deliciouslyorganic.net/

www.eatingrules.com

There are many more websites that I reference and will refer to throughout my blog, but these three helped out the most in the beginning.

I’m not a perfect cook.  I make plenty of mistakes every day.  However, I also try to do my best every day and understand that one slip up doesn’t mean I failed.  It just means I need to learn from my mistake and find a way to prevent it in the future.

This blog will consist of information that I find online, as well as my own ideas, recipes, and suggestions.  I hope you will visit often and share what you learn with friends and family.

Leave a Reply

