Some tips to begin with

I have people ask me what I buy and what I eat.  It’s fairly easy to explain.

What I Buy

As far as groceries go, I have a few rules that I follow:

  1. The food must have 5 ingredients or fewer.
  2. If there are more than 5 ingredients, it must be ingredients that I could cook with.
  3. I must be able to pronounce all the ingredients and know where they came from.

I spend the majority of our money on meat (organic chicken and ground turkey), dairy, and fresh organic produce when available.  I buy organic foods because they don’t have pesticides and chemicals added.   During the summer, I bought our produce at the local farmer’s market.  You can click on the following link to locate a farmer’s market in your area: http://www.localharvest.org/

As far as dried goods go, I buy 1 ingredient peanut butter, almond butter, honey, coconut oil, olive oil, Triscuits, popcorn kernels, dried beans, organic spaghetti sauce, whole wheat pastas, organic granola bars, and many ingredients from the baking isle.

What I cook

It all started with bread.  The first  food I made from scratch was bread.  Don’t for a second believe that I spent endless hours letting the bread rise, kneading the dough, letting is rise again, shaping it, and then cooking it.  I’m much more resourceful than that.  I went to Goodwill and bought a used bread machine for $5 and haven’t bought a loaf of bread since.  Here’s the link to the bread recipe that I use:

http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/100-whole-wheat-bread-for-the-bread-machine-recipe#.UODwcc7MGzQ.pinterest

I usually have to make bread twice a week.

Meals:  For breakfast we have eggs, cereal (usually plain cheerios), granola bars, or some fruit.  It depends on our mood and the amount of time we have.  For lunch I make chicken or tuna spread for sandwiches.  One of these days I will actually write down the recipe and post it.  We usually have stove popped popcorn and some fruit with lunch also.  For supper, we usually have soups, casseroles, spaghetti, or pizza (yep, all made from scratch).  I try to double the meat in most recipes so that we get plenty of protein.  For snacks, I make stove-popped popcorn, trail mix, and granola bars.  We also have plenty of cheese, yogurt, and fruit that we eat.

How to Start

My best recommendation for someone wanting to change their eating habits and begin eating real, wholesome food is to go through your fridge, freezer, and pantry.  Either give away or eat the foods that don’t meet real food guidelines.  This is one of the hardest parts b/c it means saying goodbye to food that you enjoy, but don’t worry.  You will be able to replace it with food that not only taste better, but it is also better for you.  After that, stock up on white whole wheat flour, spices, healthy oils (extra virgin olive oil or coconut oil), nuts (be sure to check the ingredients – you’d be surprised with the extra stuff they add to peanuts), dried fruits, and any other food that you find that meets the guidelines.  Just be sure to check the labels.

And remember, making any type of change is far better than not making a change at all.

Leave a Reply

