Making time

timer

So, I’ve had people ask me how I make time to do all my cooking.  I’m going to warn you – it isn’t always pretty, and it isn’t always easy,  but I do have some tricks up my sleeve that I want to share.

First of all, I love to cook.  I credit this to my mom.  I have few childhood memories, but some of the ones I do have focus on cooking in the kitchen with my mom.  I can remember going to the farmer’s market with her on Saturdays.  I can remember snapping green beans, pulling the husks off of corn, and eating cantaloupe while cutting it because it tasted so good.  Oh the memories!  It is easier to do something when you enjoy what you are doing.  So, on with my tricks

My first trick – I put cooking before cleaning.  messy room

This means that my house is not as clean as I would like.  There are toys throughout the house, hand prints (that are not decorations) on the walls, smudges on the windows, beds that are unmade, and a kitchen floor that needs to be mopped.  At this point, I want to give credit to my husband Jethro.  Without him, I would have a huge load of dirty laundry to add to that list.  Yep, he does the laundry, along with many other things, for the entire family.  I don’t stress about a cluttered house though.  It may be a mess, but my fridge and freezer are filled with lots of yummy, homemade, healthy meals.

My second trick – I’m what I like to call a lazy cook.  I don’t always wash my veggies before cooking them.  I don’t try to get off every piece of potato or apple peel – that is if I even peel them at all.  I don’t cut off every bit of fat from my meat (after all, that’s what adds to the flavor).  I don’t drain my meat.  I don’t worry about measuring everything perfectly.  I use my dishwasher religiously (at least once a day). I don’t rinse my dishes before putting them in the dishwasher.  If I don’t have a certain seasoning, I substitute it or just leave it out.  There are numerous other ways that I cut corners, and each one saves time.

My third trick – I have burnt foodhad a lot practice and made plenty of mistakes.  As mentioned above, I remember cooking with my mom when I was young, which means I’ve been cooking for a while now.  There have been meals that were an epic failure.    You know, the ones that taste so bad you don’t want to eat them, but you also don’t want to waste the food.  I’ve done lots of research and made plenty of mistakes.  However, the more mistakes I’ve made, the better cook I’ve become.  Keep in mind, practice may not make perfect, but it can at least lead to some improvements.

I’ve come to realize in the end that I can’t do everything, and I’m okay with that.  I’m just a mom who loves to cooks, has a messy house, cuts corners, and makes mistakes.  Now that you know some of my tricks, I would love for you to leave a comment and share some of your own.

Leave a Reply

