All Fats are Not Created The Same

fats It took me a long time to stop worrying about the amount of fat in my food.  It was as if I had been brainwashed to believe that eating fat was bad and should be avoided at all cost.  However, once I started researching some sites and gathering information, I realized that not all fats are created the same.

It gets rather complicated, but here are the basics.

1.  Fat that naturally occurs in animals or plants is good fat.

2.  Anything that has the root hydro in it is bad fat.

3. Anything that was created by a scientist in a lab is bad fat.

I know that seems very simplistic. Feel free to do some research on your own for a more detailed explanation.

How did I overcome the brainwashing?  I started thinking about how our bodies are designed and how God knew what he was doing when he created nourishment for our bodies.  Have you ever thought about the fact that He didn’t create any fat free cows?  He intended for our bodies to consume fat.  There are plenty of sites that explain why we need fat.   It is the type and the amount of fat that we put into our bodies that matter.

We drink whole milk at home and I cook with three different fats.

1. organic butter (not margarine)bttr_1lb_cltrd

2. olive oilolive oil

3. coconut oilCoconut Oil

Here is a site that does a better job of explaining the different fats and how to cook with them.

http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2011/05/14/mini-pledge-week-10-no-refined-oils/

Eating fat may be a challenge to you as well.  However, it won’t take you long to realize that adding fat makes food much more enjoyable.  Just keep in mind, moderation is key.  To be honest, I began using and eating too much fat when we first started eating real food.  I could definitely tell a change in my weight.  I wasn’t focusing on moderation.  I don’t stress about the amount of fat that I consume each day.  I’m aware of the amount that I consume, but I don’t feel the need to count every gram.  Like I said, moderation is key.

I no longer feel anxious and worried about adding butter and oil to my food and drinking whole milk.  I’ve overcome the brainwashing!  Do you feel that you have been brainwashed to avoid certain foods?

3 thoughts on “All Fats are Not Created The Same

  1. I am so glad that you and others are addressing our obsession with avoiding fats in our diets. For years I have observed people eating processed white flour covered in salt (pretzels) who thought they were eating a healthy snack just because the package had the words “Fat Free.”

    We cannot live without fats in our daily diet. The key is in consuming the right ones, and as you pointed out, these are the ones nature gave us, not the ones created in laboratories.

    Keep up the good work. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    • Thanks for the comment. That’s a great point about the pretzels; I know I ate plenty of snacks just because they were labeled fat free.

  2. Pingback: Staple Items | Soll Mom's Real Food

Leave a Reply

