Homemade Coffee Cream

When we [wallcoo]_coffee_Photo_71091started eating real food, I had a lot of trouble breaking my flavored coffee cream habit.  I knew that they were unhealthy and filled with artificial ingredients, but come on, they were so good.  Caramel Macchiato, French Vanilla, Bailey’s Irish Cream, Chocolate Carmel – they all sound so yummy.

For a while I used whole milk and honey. That was nice, but just not the same.  I tried making some homemade creams using these recipes – http://deliciouslyorganic.net/homemade-coffee-creamer/  I wasn’t a big fan of maple syrup in my coffee, so those were a no go.

I started buying Coffee Mate Natural Cream for a while.  I deliberated buying it every time because it isn’t cheap.  But, I need my coffee and I need it sweet.

After my last bottle of the Natural Cream ran out, I decided it was time to have a second go at the homemade coffee cream.  I looked at a few recipes online and then created this one.

Cinnamon Vanilla Coffee Cream

*2 cups heavy whipping cream

1 2/3 cups whole milk

3/4 cup of honey – can be adjusted to your taste

1 tsp cinnamon – decrease or leave out if you aren’t a big cinnamon fan

1/4 cup vanilla extract – homemade is best.  Look at this blog for a recipe and instructions

Homemade Vanilla Extract

Whisk the milk, cream, and honey on medium heat until it starts to steam. This can take about 5-10 minutes depending on how heavy your pot is.

Once it begins steaming, add cinnamon and vanilla extract.  Continue whisking until everything is well blended.

Store in fridge in glass bottle.  The contents will separate, so you will need to shake it before adding to your coffee.

* When buying the heavy whipping cream, you may see added  stabilizers such as carageenan and emulsifiers such as glycerol monostearate. These additives won’t affect the outcome of your cream. They would be helpful if you were trying to whip the cream b/c they help the cream hold air and increase the volume.  I suggest buying cream without the additives, but that is not always an option.

When making this cream, I suggest keeping a pot of coffee near and sampling the cream with a little coffee.  It took me a while to get the right consistency of cream and sweetness.  If you are worried about the fat content since this includes whole milk and cream, read this blog.  https://sollmomsrealfood.wordpress.com/2013/01/27/all-fats-are-not-created-the-same/ Hopefully you will stop worrying.

Now that I have made this cream, I don’t think I will ever go back to store-bought.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Leave a comment