Staple Items

spicesI wanted to make some homemade coffee cream the other day, but then realized I didn’t have all the ingredients that I needed.  It caught me by surprise b/c I tend to keep a well stocked fridge and pantry.  Which got me thinking, I’ve never actually explained the staple  items that I have.  In order to eat unprocessed foods, it is important to keep some basic ingredients on hand.  Most of these you most likely have, but I wanted to provide as many as I could think of.

Dry Goods

Coconut Oil ( this post explains why I cook with coconut and olive oil, https://sollmomsrealfood.wordpress.com/2013/01/27/all-fats-are-not-created-the-same/)

Olive Oil

Lots of seasonings (garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, basil, oregano, cinnamon) * I buy most of these seasonings in bulk at Sam’s.

Baking Powder

Baking Soda (also good for cleaning around the house)

Vanilla Extract (check out this blog for making homemade vanilla extract https://sollmomsrealfood.wordpress.com/2013/01/30/homemade-vanilla-extract/ )

White vinegar (also good for cleaning)

Balsamic Vinegar

Honey (buy in bulk at Sam’s)

A variety of whole wheat pasta

Organic Spaghetti Sauce

Dried Beans

Fridge:

White whole wheat flour (whole wheat can go rancid and is best when kept cool)
* This is the type I buy, http://www.kingarthurflour.com/shop/items/king-arthur-white-whole-wheat-flour-5-lb

Gluten (for the homemade bread)

Yeast

Cheese

Yogurt (organic if possible)

Sour Cream ( organic if possible)

Butter (organic if possible)

Salsa

All natural peanut butter

Freezer

Precooked ground meat (I use this on nights when we have spaghetti.  It makes fixing dinner a lot faster)

Shredded Chicken

Mixture of veggies

Chicken broth

I may add to the list in the future, so be sure to check back.

Leave a Reply

