Homemade Apple Jelly

Scraps (12)My boys love apples.  Actually, love might be an understatement.  When we cut apple juice out of their diet, I started buying apples on a regular basis.  I was amazed at the fact that they would eat almost the entire apple – even the core.

Over the summer, I bought apples at our local Farmer’s Market.  The market closes during the winter months, so I’ve been buying organic apples at our grocery store.  Apples, without a doubt, are one of our major expenses.  So, when it comes to the scraps, cores, and peels; I let nothing go to waste.

I had a bag in the freezer that was filled with apple peel (sometimes for supper I cut and peel an apple) and apple core. The bag was getting full, and I was feeling adventurous today.  I decided to try making some apple jelly.

Jelly is very easy to make.  Fruit + Water + Sugar = Jelly.  Scraps (1)

First, cover the scraps with water, and let it boil for about 30 minutes. Scraps (8) Strain the scraps making sure not to let any pieces get through. I had some cinnamon sticks that I added to the liquid while it boiled.  Put the apple water back on the stove, add about 1/2 cup of sugar for each cup of liquid and bring to a boil.  Continue boiling until it reaches 220 degrees and sticks to a spoon. Scraps (6)

Pour into a glass jar and store in the fridge.

I’m making a fresh loaf of bread for the week and can’t wait to try some of this new jelly on the bread.  Oh, the joys and yumminess (yes, I just created that word) of home cooked food!

Leave a Reply

