Whole Wheat Birthday Cake

So, my oldest100_2827 son turned 4 on the 13th.  I wanted to have a homemade cake but wasn’t sure what recipe would be best since I was using whole wheat.  I found this one on one of my favorite blogs ( http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2011/08/05/recipe-whole-wheat-chocolate-cake-with-easy-whipped-cream-frosting/)  I used all wheat flour instead of 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat.  I also decreased the baking soda by a tsp b/c I thought it would taste too strong.  The cake turned out great.

I wasn’t very interested in the icing that goes along with the cake recipe.  I thought about what would go best with chocolate cake.  Then it hit me, peanut butter icing.  Everything, especially chocolate, taste great when you add peanut butter.  So, I made this peanut butter icing ( http://allrecipes.com/recipe/fluffy-peanut-butter-frosting/) .  I wanted to write on the cake with chocolate icing, so I mixed some cocoa powder, milk, butter, and powered sugar until I got the right consistency.

The cake turned out great.  It was a pirate themed cake, so I added a few figures from my son’s favorite pirate show.  Overall, it was a great party and everyone enjoyed the good food.   100_2831

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Birthday Cake

Leave a Reply

