Homemade Yogurt

One of the first fooFinished-Yogurt-on-a-Spoonds I made when I started cooking at home was yogurt.  I made it about once a week and would mix it with homemade blueberry jelly.  Talk about delicious!  It was wonderful.  And filling. And healthy.  And inexpensive.  Everything a real foodie could want.  But then I got sick and got out of the routine of making the yogurt.

I missed this creamy treat but no longer had the motivation to make it.  So, I started buying organic yogurt at the store.  Now, although this is also good, it just isn’t the same.  Plus it is more expensive.

After realizing how much I was spending on yogurt, about 8 dollars a week, I figured it was time to get back in the habit.

The recipe I had used in the past made for a runny yogurt.  While is tasted good, I wanted something a little thicker this time.  I had been using the oven light to let the yogurt incubate, but I wanted to try something different this time.

And then I found it.  This website gives instructions for using a pot and heating pad to incubate the yogurt.  Believe me, it works.  I now have a yogurt that is thick enough to mix with vanilla and honey without loosing its thick consistency.

http://dontwastethecrumbs.com/2012/10/how-to-make-your-own-yogurt/#.USnxwGfUww9

Although making yogurt may seem intimidating, it is really easy.  It only takes heating up milk, letting it cool down, mixing in a starter, and then keeping it warm for about 8 hours.  I highly suggest trying it out.

Once it is finished, you can mix it with honey and vanilla (homemade is best – https://sollmomsrealfood.wordpress.com/2013/01/30/homemade-vanilla-extract ), homemade jellies, or make a smoothie with some frozen fruit.  I hope you enjoy this as much as my family does.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Yogurt

Leave a Reply

