Mango Jelly

In case you 100_2848haven’t figured it out yet, I hate wasting food scraps.  I figure there has to be something that can be done with bones, skins, peels, cores, and any other scraps.  I recently bought some mangoes to add to my green smoothies, but I couldn’t dare to throw away the pit because there was some “meat” left on them.  So, what do you think I did?  Of course, I used it to make jelly.  I froze the pits until I had 13 so that there would be enough meat to work with.

I recently made some apply jelly by using leftover apple cores and peels.  I assumed I could do the same with the leftover mango pits.  I searched online but could only find recipes for mango salsa.  None of the recipes saved the pits, so I decided to try it on my own.

I was surprised at how easy it was. I used a large amount sugar in mine in order to help it set.  You can always buy pectin and use it instead of the sugar.  You will need to follow the directions on the box to make the jelly set.  I didn’t write down the exact measurements ( my main mistake when creating a new recipe), but the measurements below are pretty close.

Mango Jelly

13 mango pits with “meat” still on them

2-4 cups of sugar (depends on how sweet you want it)

2 Tablespoons of lemon juice

Cover mango pits in water and boil until the meat is soft enough to scrape of100_2849f the pit.  It took mine about 20 minutes.  Add mango pulp back to remaining water. Continue boiling until water has reduced by half.  Using a fine mesh strainer, separate the remaining liquid from the mango scraps.  Return liquid to sauce pan and add sugar and lemon juice.  Bring to a boil, stirring often, over medium high heat until mixture sets and reaches jell point.

Allow to cool and store in glass jars.  You can boil the jars and can the jelly if you want to.  I wanted to go ahead and enjoy it, so once it was cooled, I stored it in the fridge.

This turned out to be one of the best jellies I have ever had.  It is great on a piece of 100_2859toast with some cream cheese.  It also makes a fantastic peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

I highly suggest keeping any food scraps and try creating you own jelly.  If you do try it, let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

