Green Smoothies

100_2839 I have been trying to find new ways of adding veggies into our meals.  I’ve seen many post about green smoothies but always assumed they didn’t taste that great and were rather bland.  The idea of drinking a green liquid didn’t seem very appealing to me.  They reminded me of the toxic green goo from the Ninja Turtles.

But, I was having trouble incorporating veggies into our food everyday and decided to summon the turtle power within and try a green smoothie.  The result, well I didn’t turn into a ninja fighting mutant, which was slightly disappointing, but I did enjoy it.

I have tried a few different recipes and most have worked well.  The main ingredients are spinach (which you don’t even taste), a mixture of fruit, and a liquid.  So far I have used mangoes, bananas, blueberries, pineapple, and strawberries in different combinations.  I have made them with yogurt, milk, almond milk, and Kefir.  The yogurt and milk add plenty of protein but include lactose.  The almond milk and kefir are both lactose free, so they are useful for lactose free diets.  I also add Chia seeds.  These little seeds add some good fats and can keep you fuller longer.  The smoothies are best when all the ingredients are frozen or cold.  I recently bought 3 bunches of bananas on sale for 99 cents each.  They were really bruised on the outside, but perfect on the inside.  I peeled them and put them in a plastic bag in the freezer. 100_2841

I did need to buy a new blender for my smoothies.  I had had my old one for about 8 years and it didn’t work well pureeing frozen foods.

We now try to have a smoothie everyday.  They make for a quick breakfast or a nice afternoon snack.  I highly suggest you summon the turtle power within you as well.  I believe you will be pleasantly surprised.

Leave a Reply

