Vegan Black Bean and Sweet Potato Burgers That Aren’t Just for Vegans

Last night I wvegucatedatched the documentary Vegucated.  While I’m not planning on becoming a Vegan, it does make some good points and is very eye-opening.  I’ve never been real clear on the dietary guidelines for Vegans,  but now I feel that I have a better  understanding of what they eat and why.  Having watched the video, I decided to try out a Vegan recipe.

I’ve had some frozen black beans and mashed sweet potatoes sitting in my freezer for a few months.  I recently came across a recipe for Black Bean and Sweet Potato Burgers but didn’t have the time to make them.  We decided to cook some meat on the grill, so I figured I would go ahead and make these Vegan burgers as well.

I didn’t have all of the ingredients for the original recipe, so I made some adjustments and ended up with a really good black bean burger.  And, as far as I’m aware, they are Vegan approved.

Here’s my new recipe:

4 cups black beans – if using dried beans, soak overnight and rinse thoroughly

2 cups mashed sweet potato

1 cup bread crumbs + extra to help with final consistency

1 Tablespoon kosher salt100_2959

2 teaspoons cumin

1/2 cup chopped onion

2 Tablespoons minced garlic

2 Tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce

3 Tablespoons honey

Juice from 1/2 a lime

Put all the beans in a food processor.  Chop the beans for a few minutes being careful not to make a paste out of the beans.  Remove 1/2 of the chopped beans and add all the other ingredients until well blended and the mixture resembles a paste.  Next, mix the paste with the remaining beans.  At this point, you may need to add more breadcrumbs; it depends on how thin your paste is.  You want it to be the same consistency as hamburger meat.

Shape into 12 patties and rub both sides with olive oil.  Wrap individual patties in aluminum foil and cook on hot grill turning over the foil packet after 5 minutes.  Using the foil will help prevent the patties from falling apart.  After 10 minutes, open the foil and continue cooking patties for another 5 minutes with foil open and grill covered.

These can also be cooked in the oven using the same cooking methods.

If you are wanting to keep these Vegan approved, then I suggest using some large leaf lettuce.  Otherwise, they taste great on a hamburger bun with plenty of non-vegan fixings ( i.e. cheese, mayo, bacon, etc.)

There are a lot of food documentaries available on Netflix or Amazon.  In  my opinion, Food, Inc. is the best.  I suggest  watching some and finding out for yourself which one you like the best.  And, why not enjoy a delicious Black Bean and Sweet Potato Burger while you are at it.

2 thoughts on “Vegan Black Bean and Sweet Potato Burgers That Aren’t Just for Vegans

  1. I made something very similar, but instead of breadcrumbs it has quinoa! The recipe is on my blog along with many other healthy recipes 🙂

    • I’ve been meaning fix some quinoa but always forget to buy it at the store. I save the ends of my homemade bread and make the crumbs out of it. I’ll have to check out some of your recipes. I’m always looking for something new to make.

Leave a Reply

