Cantaloupe Milkshake

It’s been a busy summer so far.  Good, but very busy.  Since school ended on May 24th, we have only spent 14 days at home with just the 4 of us.  There are many things I love doing during the summer with my family – playing in the pool, visiting the lake, going to the zoo, sleeping in, taking naps, shopping at the farmer’s market, and eating a lot of fruit to name a few.

We’ve already made plenty of visits to a local strawberry farm this summer, and I made some yummy strawberry jam and cookies.  Here are the links for both recipes.

http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2012/05/10/how-to-can-some-jam-a-simple-method-without-pectin/

http://spoonforkbacon.com/2012/09/strawberry-shortcake-cookies/

I’ve also bought plenty of cantaloupes and watermelons.  My family loves cantaloupe.

I’ve always struggled with the waste that is generated with the seeds and fruit that get trashed when cutting a cantaloupe.    I did some Google searching last year and found a recipe for cantaloupe milkshake that uses the seeds, strings and any cantaloupe meat that is left on the skin.

It’s really easy to make and very delicious.

Cantaloupe Milkshake

2 cups water

Cantaloupe scraps from 2 melons

1 tablespoon honey

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Put all ingredients in a blender and blend until all the seeds are pulverized.  Strain the liquid through a fine mesh strainer and enjoy. You can adjust the ratio of the ingredients as needed if you’d rather have a stronger or sweeter tasting drink.

I hope you enjoy this drink as much as I do, and I hope you have been enjoying your summer as much as I have been.

Leave a Reply

