Homemade Tortilla Shells

Photo courtesy of www.allrecipes.com

Photo courtesy of http://www.allrecipes.com

When buying  pre-made food, I try to find food that contains 5 or fewer ingredients and has ingredients that I can pronounce.  I’ve searched different grocery stores and haven’t been able to find tortillas that meet my requirements.  So, I began searching online for some simple homemade tortillas.

Here are two recipe for tortillas that I recommend.  Both are good, but I’ll be honest, the white flour ones are better.   Sometimes white flour just taste better.

This recipe uses white flour.

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Homemade-Flour-Tortillas/Detail.aspx

This recipe uses wheat flour.

http://www.cookingalamel.com/2013/05/homemade-whole-wheat-tortillas.html

I use butter instead of lard or olive oil like the recipes call for.  If possible, get a tortilla press.  I have to use my rolling-pin, but I hope to get a tortilla press at some point.

I’ve given up on trying to make them into a perfect circle and all the same size.  Homemade tortillas taste the same no matter how “perfect” they look.  I guess that is one thing about homemade tortillas – they may not look “perfect” like the store-bought brands, but at least they taste better.

You can also make these in large batches and freeze them.

Making tortillas can be a little time consuming, but trust me – they are much better than what you get at the store.  Much better!

Leave a Reply

