A favor and a new recipe

So, I’ll admit the obvious – it’s been a while since I posted.  Like, months.  Sorry.  We moved, had summer break, started school, and now it is March 8th already.  I’ll promise to do to better.

Now, onto my favor.  When I am not at home cooking and spending time with my family, I’m a middle school teacher.  I teach 4 Family and Consumer Science classes and 2 reading enrichment classes.  I’ve applied for a grant through Farmer’s Insurance but can only be awarded by getting a certain amount of votes.  Right now, our number of votes isn’t looking very promising.  The money from the grant will be used to purchase reading material for our reading enrichment classes.

This is where I need your favor – go vote for me and my school!  Click on this link : http://www.thankamillionteachers.com/vote-for-a-proposal/

My last name (obviously enough) is Soll and my school is New Providence Middle School.  Our school has very low-income students and a large percent of the students have parents in the military.  Our school needs all the support we can get.  You have to provide your e-mail address, but you will not get any type of spam and junk mail.

After you have voted, please pass this along to everyone you know.  You can vote once everyday until April 1st.  Every single vote matters.

In return for your vote, I’ve provided the recipe to my new favorite dressing.  It can also be used as a great pork chop marinade.

Brown Sugar and Balsamic Dressing

1 t ground sage

1/2 t salt

1/4 t pepper

1 garlic clove

1/2 c water

1/2 c brown sugar

1/4 c balsamic vinegar

2 T soy sauce

Mix all ingredients in a sauce pan over low heat and stir until sugar is fully dissolved.  Store in an airtight container in the fridge.

I hope you will enjoy this dressing over a nice salad while you vote for my grant!

Leave a Reply

